The Oscars 2015 in All their Glory

The 87th Academy Awards were held on 22nd February, 2015 in Los Angeles at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood. A light drizzle couldn’t dim the light of the shining stars on this momentous occasion. Neil Patrick Harris proved that he is the best host all around as he led an unabashed love letter to the movies and even stripped down to his underwear for doing a joke on Birdman. Furthermore, there was no lack of surprises at the Oscars 2015 because even though all eight nominees of best picture won something, it was Birdman that took home the biggest award whereas hot favorite Boyhood could only claim the lone prize.

Here is a full list of the nominees and winners of the Academy Awards this year:

Best Picture

Birdman - Best Picture

  • American Sniper
  • Boyhood
  • The Theory of Everything
  • The Imitation Game
  • Birdman, or the Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance (Winner)
  • Whiplash
  • Selma
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Lead Actress

Still Alice - Best Actress Award Won by Julianne Moore

  • Rosamund Pike for Gone Girl
  • Felicity Jones for The Theory of Everything
  • Julianne Moore for Still Alice (Winner)
  • Marion Cotillard for Two Days, One Night
  • Reese Witherspoon (Wild)

Best Lead Actor

The Theory of Everything - Best Lead Actor Award Won by Eddie Redmayne

  • Benedict Cumberbatch for The Imitation Game
  • Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything (Winner)
  • Bradley Cooper for American Sniper
  • Steve Carell for Foxcatcher
  • Michael Keaton for Birdman, or the Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance

Best Director

Birdman - Best Director Award Won By Alejandro Iñárritu

  • Bennett Miller for Foxcatcher
  • Morten Tyldum for The Imitation Game
  • Richard Linklater for Boyhood
  • Wes Anderson for The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Alejandro Iñárritu for Birdman, or the Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance (Winner)

Best Supporting Actor

  • J.K Simmons for Whiplash (Winner)
  • Robert Duvall for The Judge
  • Edward Norton for Birdman
  • Ethan Hawke for Boyhood
  • Mark Ruffalo for Foxcatcher

Best Supporting Actress

Boyhood - Best Supporting Actress Won By Patricia Arquette

  • Laura Dern for Wild
  • Emma Stone for Birdman
  • Keira Knightley for The Imitation Game
  • Patricia Arquette for Boyhood (Winner)
  • Meryl Streep for Into the Woods

Best Animated Feature Film

  • The Tale of Princess Kaguya
  • Song of the Sea
  • How to Train your Dragon 2
  • The Boxtrolls
  • Big Hero 6 (Winner)

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Damien Chazelle for Whiplash
  • Graham Moore for The Imitation Game (Winner)
  • Anthony McCarten for The Theory of Everything
  • Paul Thomas Anderson for Inherent Vice
  • Jason Hall for American Sniper

Achievement in Costume Design

The Grand Budapest Hotel - Achievement in Production Design Won By Milena Canonero oscar

  • Inherent Vice, Mark Bridges
  • Mr. Turner, Jacqueline Durran
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel, Milena Canonero (Winner)
  • Into the Woods, Collen Atwood
  • Maleficent, Anna B Sheppard

Best Original Screenplay

  • Dan Gilroy for Foxcatcher
  • Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris and Armando Bo for Birdman (Winner)
  • Dan Futterman and E. Max Fyre for Foxcatcher
  • Richard Linklater for Boyhood
  • Hugo Guinness and Wes Anderson for The Grand Budapest Hotel

Achievement in Cinematography

Birdman - Best Cinematography Won By Emmanuel Lubezki

  • Emmanuel Lubezki for Birdman (Winner)
  • Roger Deakins for Unbroken
  • Robert Yeoman for The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Dick Pope for Mr. Turner
  • Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski for Ida

Best Foreign Film of the Year

  • Wild Tales, Damián Szifrón
  • Tangerines, Zaza Urushadze
  • Timbuktu, Abderrahmane Sissako
  • Leviathan, Andrey Zvyagintsev
  • Ida, Pawel Pawlikowski (Winner)

Best Documentary Feature

  • The Salt of the Earth, Wim Wenders, Juliano Ribeiro Salgado, David Rosier
  • Finding Vivian Maier, John Maloof, Charlie Siskel
  • Virunga, Orlando von Einsiedel, Joanna Natasegara
  • Citizenfour, Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy, Dirk Wilutzky (Winner)
  • Last Days in Vietnam, Rory Kennedy, Keven McAlester

Best Documentary Short Subject

  • White Earth, Christian Jensen
  • Joanna, Aneta Kopacz
  • Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1, Dana Perry and Ellen Goosenberg Kent (Winner)
  • The Reaper, Gabriel Serra
  • Our Curse, Tomasz Sliwinski, Maciej Slesicki

Achievement in Film Editing


  • Boyhood, Sandra Adair
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel, Barney Pilling
  • The Imitation Game, William Goldenberg
  • Whiplash, Tom Cross (Winner)
  • American Sniper, Joel Cox and Gary Roach

Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling

  • Guardians of the Galaxy – Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou, David White
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel – Frances Hannon, Mark Coulier (Winner)
  • Foxcatcher – Bill Corso, Dennis Liddiard

Best Original Score

  • Johann Johannsson, The Theory of Everything
  • Gary Yershon, Mr. Turner
  • Hans Zimmer, Interstellar
  • Alexandre Desplat, The Grand Budapest Hotel (Winner)
  • Alexandre Desplat, The Imitation Game

Best Original Song

Glory from Selma - Best Original Song

  • Lost Stars from Begin Again (written by Gregg Alexander, Danielle Brisebois, Nick Lashley and Nick Southwood)
  • Glory from Selma (written by Common and John Legend) (Winner)
  • I’m Not Gonna Miss You from Glen Campbell … I’ll Be Me (written by Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond)
  • Everything is Awesome from The LEGO Movie (written by Shawn Patterson)
  • Grateful from Beyond the Lights (music and lyric by Diane Warren)

Achievement in Production Design

  • Interstellar: Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis
  • Mr. Turner: Suzie Davies, Charlotte Watts
  • The Imitation Game: Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana McDonald
  • Into the Woods: Dennis Gassner, Anna Pinnock
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel: Adam Stockhausen, Anna Pinnock (Winner)

Best Animated Short Film

  • Me and My Moulton, Torill Kove
  • Feast, Kristina Reed and Patrick Osborne (Winner)
  • The Dam Keeper, Robert Kondo and Daisuke ‘Dice’ Tsutsumi
  • The Bigger Picture, Chris Hees and Daisy Jacobs
  • A Single Life, Joris Oprins

Best Live Action Short Film

The Phone Call

  • Boogaloo and Graham, Michael Lennox and Ronan Blaney
  • Aya, Oded Binnun and Mihal Brezis
  • Butter Lamp, Wei Hu and Julien Féret
  • The Phone Call, Mat Kirkby and James Lucas (Winner)
  • Parvaneh,  Talkhon Hamzavi and Stefan Eichenberger

Achievement in Sound Editing

  • ·          American Sniper, Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman (Winner)
  • Interstellar, Richard King
  • Birdman, Aaron Glascock and Martín Hernández
  • Unbroken, Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro
  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, Brent Burge and Jason Canovas

Achievement in Sound Mixing

  • Birdman, Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and Thomas Varga
  • Unbroken, Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and David Lee
  • American Sniper, John T Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin
  • Interstellar, Gary Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten
  • Whiplash, Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley (Winner)

Achievement in Visual Effects

  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes – Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier – Dan Deleeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Daniel Sudick
  • Interstellar – Paul J Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott R Fisher (Winner)
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past – Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbauer
  • Guardians of the Galaxy – Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould