The 88th Academy Awards: Nominees and Winners

The 88th Academy Awards were held on 28th February, Sunday and the ceremony became a diversity lesson under the reins of host, Chris Rock. The top honors at the Oscar was snatched by ‘Spotlight’, which was a newspaper drama about the cover-up of sexual abuse at the hands of the priests at the Roman Catholic Church. ‘The Revenant’ had been viewed as the favorite and even though it didn’t claim the biggest award, it did win two in the Best Actor and Best Director categories.

Overall, the movie won three Oscars whereas ‘Spotlight’ took two. The highest number of awards was taken by ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ as it claimed six Oscars, some of which fell in the technical categories. The top prizes marked a chaotic year as voters from the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences spread their acting awards amongst four different movies. Di Caprio finally won an Oscar and he used the platform to thank his director and discuss the very important issue of climate change.

Here is a complete list of nominees and winners at the 88th Academy Awards:

Best Picture

  • Bridge of Spies
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • Spotlight (Winner)
  • The Big Short
  • The Revenant
  • The Martian
  • Room

Best Actress

  • Jennifer Lawrence, ‘Joy’
  • Saoirse Ronan, ‘Brooklyn’
  • Charlotte Rampling, ’45 Years’
  • Brie Larson, ‘Room’ (Winner)
  • Cate Blanchett, ‘Carol’

Best Actor

  • Leonardo DiCaprio, ‘The Revenant’ (Winner)
  • Eddie Redmayne, ‘The Danish Girl’
  • Bryan Cranston, ‘Trumbo’
  • Michael Fassbender, ‘Steve Jobs’
  • Matt Damon, ‘The Martian’

Best Supporting Actress

  • Kate Winslet, ‘Steve Jobs’
  • Rooney Mara, ‘Carol’
  • Jennifer Jason Leigh, ‘The Hateful Eight’
  • Rachel McAdams, ‘Spotlight’
  • Alicia Vikander, The Danish Girl (Winner)

Best Supporting Actor

  • Tom Hardy, ‘The Revenant’
  • Mark Rylance, ‘Bridge of Spies’ (Winner)
  • Christian Bale, ‘The Big Short’
  • Sylvester Stallone, ‘Creed’
  • Mark Ruffalo, ‘Spotlight’

Best Director

  • ‘Spotlight’, Tom McCarthy
  • ‘The Big Short’, Adam McKay
  • ‘The Revenant’, Alejandro G. Inarritu (Winner)
  • ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’, George Miller
  • ‘Room’, Lenny Abrahamson

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • ‘Room’, Emma Donoghue
  • ‘Brooklyn’, Nick Hornby
  • ‘The Martian’, Dew Goddard
  • ‘The Big Short’, Charles Randolph and Adam McKay (Winner)
  • ‘Carol’, Phyllis Nagy

Best Original Screenplay

  • ‘Spotlight’ by Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy (Winner)
  • ‘Bridge of Spies’ by Matt Charman, Joel Coen and Ethan Coen
  • ‘Inside Out’ by Pete Doctor, Josh Cooley and Meg LeFauve; original story by Ronnie del Carmen and Pete Doctor
  • ‘Straight Outta Compton’ by Andrea Berloff and Jonathan Herman; story by Alan Wenkus, S. Leigh Savidge and Andrea Berloff

Best Costume Design

  • ‘Cinderella’, Sandy Powell
  • ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’, Jenny Beavan (Winner)
  • ‘The Danish Girl’, Paco Delgado
  • ‘Carol’, Sandy Powell
  • ‘The Revenant’, Jacqueline West

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

  • ‘The 100-Year-Old-Man Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared’, Love Larson and Eva von Bahr
  • ‘The Revenant’, Duncan Jarman, Sian Grigg and Robert Pandini
  • ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’, Elka Wardega, Lesley Vanderwalt and Damian Martin (Winner)

Best Production Design

  • ‘The Martian’ production design by Arthur Max; set decoration by Celia Bobak
  • ‘The Danish Girl’ production design by Eve Steward; set decoration by Michael Standfish
  • ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’ production design by Colin Gibson; set decoration by Lisa Thompson (Winner)
  • ‘The Revenant’ production design by Jack Fish; set decoration by Hamish Purdy
  • ‘Bridge of Spies’ production design by Adam Stockhausen; set decoration by Bernhard Henrich and Rena DeAngelo

Best Film Editing

  • ‘Spotlight’, Tom McArdle
  • ‘The Big Short’, Hank Corwin
  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’, Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey
  • ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’, Margaret Sixel (Winner)
  • ‘The Revenant’, Stephen Mirrione

Best Cinematography

  • ‘The Revenant’, Emmanuel Lubezki (Winner)
  • ‘Carol’, Ed Lachman
  • ‘Sicario’, Roger Deakins
  • ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’, John Seale
  • ‘The Hateful Eight’, Robert Richardson

Best Sound Mixing

  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’, Andy Nelson, Stuart Wilson and Christopher Scarabosio
  • ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’, Ben Osmo, Chris Jenkins and Greg Rudloff (Winner)
  • ‘The Revenant’, Jon Taylor, Chris Duesterdiek, Randy Thom and Frank A. Montaño
  • ‘Bridge of Spies’, Gary Rydstorm, Andy Nelson and Dew Kunin
  • ‘The Martian’, Mark Taylor, Paul Massey and Mac Ruth

Best Sound Editing

  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’, David Acord and Matthew Wood
  • ‘The Martian’, Oliver Tarney
  • ‘Sicario’, Alan Robert Murray
  • ‘The Revenant’, Lon Bender and Martin Hernandez
  • ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’, Mark Mangini and David White (Winner)

Best Visual Effects

  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’, Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould
  • ‘The Martian’, Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence and Steven Warner
  • ‘Ex Machina’, Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett(Winner)
  • ‘The Revenant’, Rich McBride, Matthew Shumway, Jason Smith and Cameron Waldbauer
  • ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’, Andrew Jackson, Tom Wood, Dan Oliver and Andy Williams

Best Animated Feature Film

  • ‘Shaun the Sheep Movie’, Mark Burton and Richard Starzak
  • ‘Anomalisa’, Duke Johnson, Charlie Kaufman and Rosa Tran
  • ‘When Marnie was There’, Hiromasa Yonebayashi and Yoshiaki Nishimura
  • ‘Inside Out’, Jonas Riveria and Pete Docter (Winner)
  • ‘Boy and the World’, Alê Abreu

Best Animated Short Film

  • ‘Bear Story’, Gabriel Osoro and Pato Escala (Winner)
  • ‘World of Tomorrow’, Don Hertzfeldt
  • ‘Prologue’, Richard Williams and Imogen Sutton
  • ‘We Can’t Live Without Cosmos’, Konstantin Bronzit
  • ‘Sanjay’s Super Team’, Sanjay Patel and Nicole Grindle

Best Live-Action Short Film

  • ‘Day One’, Henry Hughes
  • ‘Stutterer’, Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage (Winner)
  • ‘Everything Wil be Okay (Alles Wird Gut’, Patrick Vollrath
  • ‘Ave Maria’, Basil Khalil and Eric Dupont
  • ‘Shok’, Jamie Donoghue

Best Documentary Feature

  • ‘The Look of Silence’, Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
  • ‘Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom’, Evgeny Afineevsky and Den Tolmor
  • ‘Cartel Land’, Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin
  • ‘What Happened, Miss Simone’, Liz Garbus, Amy Hobby and Justin Wilkes
  • ‘Amy’, Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees (Winner)

Best Documentary, Short Subject

  • ‘Last Day of Freedom’, Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman
  • ‘Body Team 12’, David Darg and Bryn Mooser
  • ‘A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness’, Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy (Winner)
  • ‘Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah’, Adam Benzine
  • ‘Chau, Beyond the Lines’, Courtney Marsh and Jerry Franck

Best Foreign-Language Film

  • ‘Theeb’ Jordan
  • ‘Mustang’ France
  • ‘Embrace of the Serpent’ Colombia
  • ‘Son of Saul’ Hungary (Winner)
  • ‘A War’ Denmark

Best Original Score

  • ‘The Hateful Eight’, Ennio Morricone (Winner)
  • ‘Bridge of Spies’, Thomas Newman
  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’, John Williams
  • ‘Carol’, Carter Burwell
  • ‘Sicario’, Jóhann Jóhannsson

Best Original Song

  • ‘Earned it’ from ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ Music and Lyrics by Abel Tesfaye, Ahmad Balshe, Jason Daheala Quenneville and Stephan Moccio
  • Writings on the Wall’ from ‘Spectre’ Music and Lyrics by Sam Smith and Jimmy Napes (Winner)
  • ‘Simple Song#3’ from ‘Youth’ Music and Lyrics by David Lang
  • ‘Manta Ray’ from ‘Racing Extinction’ Music by J. Ralph and Lyrics by Antony Hegarty
  • ‘Till it Happens to You’ from ‘The Hunting Ground’, Music and Lyrics by Dianne Warren and Lady Gaga.