Primetime Emmy Awards 2015

On Sunday, September 20th 2015, the 67th annual Primetime Emmy awards were held for celebrating quality television. This year’s Emmy awards made history as there were some really unique wins from Broadway stars like Uza Aduba and Viola Davis. The night was filled with touching and poignant speeches and some really smart and sarcastic quips from the host Andy Samberg. HBO managed to come out on top this year as the cable network took away multiple awards for Veep and Game of Thrones, which included the top honors like outstanding comedy series and outstanding drama series. Game of Thrones broke the record of most awards by taking home 12 Emmys.

The list of categories, nominees and winners are listed below:

Outstanding Supporting Actress- Comedy Series

  • Julie Bowen, “Modern Family”
  • Mayim Bialik, “The Big Bang Theory”
  • Jane Krakowski, “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”
  • Allison Janney, “Mom”- Winner
  • Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live”
  • Anna Chlumsky, “Veep”
  • Gaby Hoffman, “Transparent”
  • Niecy Nash, “Getting On”

Outstanding Writing- Comedy Series

  • Transparent
  • Silicon Valley
  • Veep- Winner
  • The Last Man on Earth
  • Episodes
  • Louie

Outstanding Lead Actor- Comedy Series

  • Matt LeBlanc, “Episodes”
  • Jeffrey Tambor, “Transparent”- Winner
  • William H. Macy, “Shameless”
  • Will Forte, “The Last Man on Earth”
  • Anthony Anderson, “Blackish”
  • Louis C.K., “Louie”
  • Don Cheadle, “House of Lies”

Reality Competition Program

  • Top Chef
  • Dancing with the Stars
  • Project Runaway
  • The Amazing Race
  • So You Think You Can Dance
  • The Voice- Winner

Outstanding Supporting Actress- Limited Series or Movie

  • Zoe Kazan, “Olive Kitteridge”
  • Sarah Paulson, “American Horror Story: Freak Show”
  • Regina King, “American Crime”- Winner
  • Mo’Nique, “Bessie”
  • Angela Bassett, “American Horror Story: Freak Show”
  • Kathy Bates, “American Horror Story: Freak Show”

Outstanding Lead Actress- Comedy Series

  • Amy Schumer, “Inside Amy Schumer”
  • Lisa Kudrow, “The Comeback”
  • Amy Poehler, “Parks and Recreation”
  • Lily Tomlin, “Grace and Frankie”
  • Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep”- Winner
  • Edie Falco, “Nurse Jackie”

Outstanding Supporting Actor- Limited Series or Movie

  • Denis O’Hare, “American Horror Story: Freak Show”
  • Richard Cabral, “American Crime”
  • Bill Murray, “Olive Kitteridge”- Winner
  • Damian Lewis, “Wolf Hall”
  • Michael Kenneth Williams, “Bessie”
  • Finn Wittrock, “American Horror Story: Freak Show”

Best Directing- Comedy Series

  • Armando Iannucci, “Veep”
  • Louis C.K., “Louie”
  • Jill Soloway, “Transparent”- Winner
  • Mike Judge, “Silicon Valley”
  • Phil Lord and Christopher Miller, “The Last Man on Earth”

Outstanding Supporting Actor- Comedy Series

  • Adam Driver, “Girls”
  • Tituss Burgess, “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt”
  • Andre Braugher, “Brooklyn Nine-Nine”
  • Tony Hale, “Veep”- Winner
  • Ty Burrell, “Modern Family”
  • Keegan-Michael Key, “Key & Peele”

Limited Series- Writing

  • Hugo Blick, “The Honourable Woman”
  • John Ridley, “American Crime”
  • Peter Straughan, “Wolf Hall”
  • Stephen Merchant, Gene Stupnitsky, Lee Eisenberg, “Hello Ladies”
  • Dee Rees, Christopher Cleveland, Bettina Gilois, Horton Foote, “Bessie”
  • Jane Anderson, “Olive Kitteridge”– Winner

Directing for a Limited Series

  • Ryan Murphy, “American Horror Story: Freak Show”
  • Peter Kosminsky, “Wolf Hall”
  • Hugo Blick, “The Honourable Woman”
  • Lisa Choldenko, “Oliver Kitteridge”- Winner
  • Tom Shankland, “The Missing”
  • Dee Rees, “Bessie”
  • Uli Edel, “Houdini”

Outstanding Lead Actor- Limited Series or Movie

  • Timothy Hutton, “American Crime”
  • Richard Jenkins, Olive Kitteridge”- Winner
  • Mark Rylance, “Wolf Hall”
  • Ricky Gervais, “Derek”
  • David Oyelowo, “Nightingale
  • Adrien Brody, “Houdini”

Outstanding Lead Actress- Limited Series or Movie

  • Felicity Huffman, “American Crime”
  • Queen Latifah, “Bessie”
  • Frances McDormand, “Olive Kitteridge”- Winner
  • Emma Thompson, “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street”
  • Jessica Lange, “American Horror Story: Freak Show”
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Honorable Woman”

Outstanding Writing- Variety Series

  • Inside Amy Schumer
  • The Colbert Report
  • Key & Peele
  • The Daily Show with Jon Stewart- Winner
  • Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

Outstanding Limited Series

  • The Honorable Woman
  • American Horror Story: Freak Show
  • Olive Kitteridge- Winner
  • Wolf Hall
  • American Crime

Variety Series- Directing

  • The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon
  • Late Show with David Letterman
  • Inside Amy Schumer
  • The Daily Show with Jon Stewart- Winner

Variety Sketch Series

  • Key & Peele
  • Drunk History
  • Saturday Night Live
  • Inside Amy Schumer- Winner
  • Portlandia

Variety Talk Series

  • “Jimmy Kemmel Live”
  • “The Colbert Report”
  • “The Daily Show With Jon Stewart”- Winner
  • “Late Show With David Letterman”
  • “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver”
  • “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon”

Drama Series Directing

  • David Nutter, “Game of Thrones”- Winner
  • Lesli Linka Glatter, “Homeland”
  • Jeremy Podeswa, “Game of Thrones”
  • Tim Van Patten, “Boardwalk Empire”
  • Steven Soderbergh, “The Knick”

Writing for a Drama Series

  • Joshua Brand, “The Americans”
  • Matthew Weiner, “Mad Men”
  • Gordon Smith, “Better Call Saul”
  • David Benioff and D.B. Weiss, “Game of Thrones”- Winner

Outstanding Supporting Actor- Drama Series

  • Ben Mendelsohn, “Bloodline”
  • Michael Kelly, “House of Cards”
  • Jonathan Banks, “Better Call Saul
  • Peter Dinklage, “Game of Thrones”- Winner
  • Alan Cumming, “The Good Wife”
  • Jim Carter, “Downton Abbey”

Outstanding Supporting Actress- Drama Series

  • Christina Hendricks, “Mad Men”
  • Emilia Clarke, “Game of Thrones”
  • Uzo Aduba, “Orange Is the New Black”- Winner
  • Lena Headey, “Game of Thrones”
  • Joanne Froggatt, “Downton Abbey”
  • Christine Baranski, “The Good Wife”

Outstanding Lead Actress- Drama Series

  • Taraji P. Henson, “Empire”
  • Tatiana Maslany, “Orphan Black”
  • Claire Danes, “Homeland”
  • Elisabeth Moss, “Mad Men”
  • Robin Wright, “House of Cards”
  • Viola Davis, “How to Get Away With Murder”- Winner

Outstanding Lead Actor- Drama Series

  • Kyle Chandler, “Bloodline”
  • Jon Hamm, “Mad Men”- Winner
  • Jeff Daniels, “The Newsroom”
  • Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul”
  • Liev Schreiber, “Ray Donovan”
  • Kevin Spacey, “House of Cards”

Outstanding Drama Series

  • Orange is the New Black
  • Downtown Abbey
  • House of Cards
  • Better Call Saul
  • Game of Thrones- Winner
  • Homeland
  • Mad Men

Outstanding Comedy Series

  • Modern Family
  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt
  • Veep- Winner
  • Silicon Valley
  • Parks and Recreation
  • Louie
  • Transparent

With Veep’s victory, Modern Family lost its chance of achieving a six consecutive win in the comedy category. Olive Kitteridge was able to win almost every Emmy for which it was nominated as it was based on the prizewinning stories of Elizabeth Strout. The number of total awards for HBO were 43, which was a huge success for the network. However, the night meant most to women as Viola Davis became the first ever African-American woman to win an Emmy in the category of outstanding actress in a drama series. She made a moving and inspirational speech focused on the availability of roles and diversity. Transgender rights were also discussed by her and Jill Soloway.